You hurl a 4-inch-diameter round of power at a biology that you have the right to see in ~ range. You choose acid, cold, fire, lightning, poison, or thunder because that the type of orb you create, and then make a ranged assignment attack versus the target. If the attack hits, the creature takes 3d8 damage of the form you chose.

You are watching: Does chromatic orb consume the diamond

Arcane Focus.

An arcane emphasis is a one-of-a-kind item — an orb, a crystal, a rod, a specially created staff, a wand like length of wood, or some similar item — designed to channel the power of arcane spells. A sorcerer, warlock, or wizard can use such an item as a spellcasting focus, as explained in chapter 10.

As a diamond is a crystal, have the right to the 50 gp diamond for Chromatic Orb be provided as an Arcane focus for various other spells?

dnd-5e spells spell-components spellcasting-focus
boost this concern
edited Aug 8 "20 in ~ 8:42

46.1k66 yellow badges195195 silver- badges283283 bronze badges
inquiry Aug 8 "20 in ~ 3:24

1,19633 silver badges1717 bronze badges
add a comment |

3 answers 3

active oldest Votes

Not by RAW

Something have the right to be provided as a spellcasting emphasis if that is designated choose that.

For example arcane foci native the devices section the you cited. Various other examples incorporate the bard who have the right to use a music instrument as focus or the magic item ruby the the war mage.

Nowhere does it say, that any type of diamond can be offered as emphasis or that it is

designed to channel the strength of arcane spells

however, a diamond is still a crystal, so it fits through the instances of things that deserve to be design that way and the is much much more expensive than those, therefore I view no reason, either in flavor or in balance why a GM must not allow this.

improve this answer
edited Aug 8 "20 at 6:46
answered Aug 8 "20 at 6:15

10.5k33 gold badges3535 silver badges8585 bronze badges
include a comment |
The diamond offered in Chromatic Orb and also a crystal provided as an arcane emphasis are allowed, by RAW, to it is in the very same thing. "Crystal" is a wide category that objects, which consists of diamond. Supposing that the diamond/crystal is worth at least 50gp, that is enabled to be both.

RAW - Yes, through some limitations.

The relavent rules space cited in the question, so i won"t repeat castle here.

Chromatic Orb calls for a diamond worth at the very least 50 gp. So any kind of diamond precious at least 50 gp will job-related as a spell component.

A decision "designed for the purpose of arcane spells" have the right to be one arcane focus.

These 2 things room not discrete: if you have a diamond worth at least 50 gp that has been particularly designed because that this purpose, then it usable both together an arcane focus and the product component for Chromatic Orb.

Notably, this doesn"t typical that any decision worth 50 gp may be one arcane focus. It need to be design for that use.

enhance this answer
answer Aug 8 "20 at 17:28

17k33 gold badges4141 silver badges9292 bronze title
add a comment |


An arcane focus is a special item ... designed come channel the strength of arcane spells.

A diamond is simply a diamond.

Of course, you have the right to make an arcane focus from a diamond but then the an arcane focus, not a diamond. In the same means that a auto is no a $20,000 piece of steel.

enhance this answer
edited Aug 8 "20 at 5:10
answer Aug 8 "20 in ~ 4:36

Dale MDale M
176k3232 yellow badges454454 silver- badges754754 bronze title
include a comment |

your Answer

Thanks for contributing solution to Role-playing games Stack Exchange!

Please be sure to answer the question. Administer details and also share your research!

But avoid

Asking for help, clarification, or responding to other answers.Making statements based upon opinion; ago them up with references or personal experience.

Use MathJax to layout equations. MathJax reference.

To learn more, view our tips on writing an excellent answers.

See more: If You Say My Name I Disappear What Am I Disappear What Am I

Draft saved
Draft discarded

Sign up or log in in

sign up making use of Google
authorize up making use of Facebook
sign up making use of Email and also Password

Post as a guest

email Required, yet never shown

Post as a guest


Required, however never shown

write-up Your prize Discard

By click “Post your Answer”, friend agree come our terms of service, privacy policy and also cookie plan

Not the prize you're spring for? Browse other questions tagged dnd-5e spells spell-components spellcasting-focus or asking your own question.

Featured on Meta
11 votes · comment · stats
What room the (non-encumbrance) results that discriminate between rods and wands?
make an Improvised Spellcasting Focus?
need to a Ranger's spellcasting emphasis be druidic, or have the right to it be arcane (or also holy)?
What is allowed to it is in an Arcane focus?
go the 2019 UA artificer's Arcane Weapon spell apply to thrown weapons?
have the right to an Eldritch Knight usage a Ruby that the battle Mage?
deserve to an artificer/wizard make a homonculus heart into a spell-storing item?
can a multiclass Artificer usage Alchemical Savant on order learned with the various other class(es)?
warm Network inquiries much more hot questions

inquiry feed
subscribe to RSS
question feed To subscribe to this RSS feed, copy and also paste this URL right into your RSS reader.

Role-playing gamings
stack Exchange Network
site architecture / logo © 2021 ridge Exchange Inc; user contributions license is granted under cc by-sa. Rev2021.9.23.40291

Role-playing games Stack Exchange works best with JavaScript allowed

her privacy

By clicking “Accept every cookies”, you agree ridge Exchange have the right to store cookies on your device and disclose information in accordance through our Cookie Policy.